Search result: Catalogue data in Spring Semester 2021

Architecture Master Information
Master Studies (Programme Regulations 2017)
Focus Work
Realization in the respective fields of the institutes. Definition of topics by professors, in consultation with the students. The content may also refer to an elective course.

The performance assessment comprises either a purely written examination followed by an oral examination or a creative, manual or drawing work, including a description, followed by an oral examination.
At least one focus work is a written work followed by an oral exam. The written work fulfills the criteria of a scientific paper in a formal sense. In addition to the design, crafting or drawing part, it also includes a written description of the question, methodology and knowledge gained.

A creative, crafting or graphic focus work is shown in a public exhibition, a purely written focus work is accessible to the public.
Field of History and Theory of Architecture
Definition of topics by professors, in consultation with the students (student's proposal / content of an elective course).

Performance assessment: Purely written examination followed by an oral examination OR a creative, manual or drawing work, including a description, followed by an oral examination.
At least one focus work is a written work followed by an oral exam. The written work fulfills the criteria of a scientific paper in a formal sense. In addition to the design, crafting or drawing part, it also includes a written description of the question, methodology and possibly gained knowledge.

A creative, crafting or graphic focus work is shown in a public exhibition, a purely written focus work is accessible to the public.
Information on exams and grades: Art. 29 of the MSc D-ARCH regulations.
NumberTitleTypeECTSHoursLecturers
063-0852-21LFocus Work FS21 in the Field of History and Theory in Architecture (gta) Information W6 credits13ASupervisors
AbstractIndentation work of the Institute gta, of which the content can also refer to an elective subject.
The topic is determined in consultation with the chosen professor.
ObjectiveThe result is either a purely written work followed by an oral examination or a creative, craft or drawing work - including description - followed by oral examination.



In at least one specialization work, the performance assessment is a written work followed by an oral examination. In formal terms, the written work has to fulfill all the criteria of a scientific work.



In addition to the design, crafting or drawing part, a design work also includes a written description of the question, methodology and possible gain in knowledge of the work

.

The written or creative craft or drawing work and the oral exam are each evaluated individually. These two evaluations are offset against each other and give the overall grade for the specialization work"
ContentIn-depth work is carried out in the respective subject areas of the institute. The professors determine the topics in consultation with the students. The content of the in-depth work can also relate to the content of an elective course.

The performance assessment comprises either a purely written work with a subsequent oral examination or a creative, technical or graphic work, including a description, with a subsequent oral examination.
At least in the case of one in-depth thesis, the performance assessment must take the form of a purely written work with a subsequent oral examination (Regulations Paragraph 2 Letter a). In formal terms, the written work must meet the criteria of an academic paper. In addition to the creative, manual or drawing part, it includes a written description of the question, the methodology and the possible gain in knowledge of the work.

The students take the oral examination with the professor with whom they have discussed the topic of the in-depth thesis.

The written or creative, manual or drawing work and the oral examination are each assessed individually. These two assessments are offset against each other and result in the overall grade for the in-depth work. Paragraph 7 remains reserved.

The oral examination can only be taken if the written work or the creative, technical or graphic work is sufficient.

A thesis is passed if the overall grade is at least 4.
It is considered not passed if the overall grade is below 4; if the written or creative, technical or graphic work is unsatisfactory and therefore the oral examination cannot be taken; in such a case, the failure will be noted with the term “dropout”.

An in-depth thesis that has not been passed cannot be repeated. In order to acquire the required CP, a further in-depth work must be carried out and the performance must be assessed with an overall grade of at least 4. The number of attempts is limited (see regulations).

If more than one “in-depth study” course unit is not passed, the course is considered to have been definitively failed, which leads to exclusion from the course.

The creative, craft or drawing in-depth work is publicly exhibited. Purely written in-depth theses are made publicly available.
Prerequisites / NoticeThe indentation work can be carried out to a predefined or self-selected theme of the architecture. If several works are carried out, they must be selected from the departments of at least two different institutes of the D-ARCH. The details are regulated in Art. 34.
063-0120-21LTheory of Architecture IV (Thesis Elective) Information W6 credits13AM. Gnehm
AbstractAn elective thesis in architectural theory is a written student assignment of an architectural issue or question, which is to be elaborated into a scientific paper in consultation with the advisor.
ObjectiveWithin the framework of an elective thesis the student enhances the acquired knowledge in architectural theory in written form. The thesis elective serves the acquirement of methodologies, the derivation, development and verbalization of conclusions and the contextualization within a theoretical setting.
ContentThe contents of the elective thesis are expected to link to the subject matter of the attended course.
063-0170-21LSeminar Architectural Criticism (Thesis Elective) Information Restricted registration - show details W6 credits13AL. Stalder
AbstractIn the framework of three elective courses, students need prepare elective works (seminar works).
ObjectiveThe aim of these papers is to foster an independent engagement with the subjects of the seminar. A scientific familiarization with the respective themes is required. The extent of such a paper ranges from 20 to 30 pages.
Prerequisites / NoticeInterested students are kindly asked to contact us in order to discuss possible projects.
063-0172-21LHistory, Criticism and Theory of Architecture (Thesis Elective) Information Restricted registration - show details W6 credits13AL. Stalder
AbstractWithin three elective courses the students need to fulfill an elective work (seminar work). Elective works serve the independent way of dealing with the contents of the according elective course.
ObjectiveThe goal is to develop a framework of questions within the field of the history and theory of architecture as well as cultural history and to discuss it in a text that will form a scientific thesis. Personal viewpoints and arguments should be based on historical and theoretical sources and literature, and should be presented with reference to the source.
063-0318-21LHistory of Art and Architecture (Thesis Elective) Information Restricted registration - show details W6 credits13AM. Delbeke
AbstractEssay on a subject from the field of architectural history
ObjectiveIndependent preparation of a scholarly essay on a topic from the field of architectural history.
ContentThe aim of the elective course paper is to discuss a topic freely selected from the field of architectural history, in agreement with the assistant lecturer(s). In addition to original ideas, positions taken in the history of research on the subject should also be discussed. It is important to use the correct scholarly format and clear language. The paper should be approximately 36,000 characters in length and should also include as much pictorial material as needed. At the beginning and in the end the paper will be discussed in detail.
063-0320-21LHistory of Art and Architecture (Thesis Elective, P. Ursprung) Information Restricted registration - show details W6 credits13AN. Zschocke, T. Klauser, B. Seidel, A. Smith, P. Ursprung
AbstractIndependent thesis on a monographic or thematic topic within the scope of the History of Art and Architecture.
ObjectiveThe objective is to write an independent thesis on a monographic or thematic topic within the scope of the History of Art and Architecture. The focus is to thus exemplify a comprehensive view of the approach and methods towards the modern History of Art.
ContentThe aim of the elective course paper is to discuss a topic freely selected from the field of architectural history, in agreement with the assistant lecturer(s). In addition to original ideas, positions taken in the history of research on the subject should also be discussed. It is important to use the correct scholarly format and clear language. The paper should be approximately 36,000 characters in length and should also include as much pictorial material as needed. At the beginning and in the end the paper will be discussed in detail.
Prerequisites / NoticeStudents who are interested to do a Thesis Elective have to arrange an appointment at the chair.

Elective works can be realized in various media (text, video, photography, performance).
Supervision by academic staff of the chair of History of Art and Architecture, Philip Ursprung.
063-0368-21LHistory of Urban Design (Thesis Elective) Information Restricted registration - show details W6 credits13AT. Avermaete
AbstractWithin three elective courses the students need to fulfill an elective work (seminar work). Elective works serve the independent way of dealing with the contents of the according elective course.
ObjectiveAim of this seminar work is to learn how to write a small thesis on a case study. This work should include a creative text, but also to obey certain rules, which turn a regular text into a scientific one.
Prerequisites / NoticeEnrollment on agreement with the lecturer only.

Specials: The thesis must be handed in before 31st May 2017.
063-0370-21LTheory of Urban Design (Thesis Elective) Information Restricted registration - show details W6 credits13AT. Avermaete
AbstractFollowing the seminar focusing on the urban history of Zurich a hypothesis and question should be posed. With the small academic writing this question should be answered.
ObjectiveThe main aim of this seminar is learning the scientific handling of theoretical texts on the city. These texts range from pamphlets, to commentaries and literary products.
Prerequisites / NoticeEnrollment on agreement with the lecturer only.
  •  Page  1  of  1

Suchergebnis: Katalogdaten im Frühjahrssemester 2021

Architektur Master Information
Master-Studium (Studienreglement 2017)
Vertiefungsarbeiten
Ausführung in den jeweiligen Fachgebieten der Institute. Festlegen der Themen durch ProfessorInnen, in Absprache mit den Studierenden. Der Inhalt kann sich auch auf ein Wahlfach beziehen.

Die Leistungskontrolle umfasst entweder eine rein schriftliche Arbeit mit anschliessender mündlicher Prüfung oder eine gestalterische, handwerkliche oder zeichnerische Arbeit, einschliesslich Beschrieb, mit anschliessender mündlicher Prüfung.
Mindestens eine Vertiefungsarbeit hat die Form einer rein schriftlichen Arbeit mit anschliessender mündlicher Prüfung. Dabei erfüllt die schriftliche Arbeit in formaler Hinsicht die Kriterien einer wissenschaftlichen Arbeit. Sie umfasst neben dem gestalterischen, handwerklichen oder zeichnerischen Teil einen schriftlichen Beschrieb zu Fragestellung, Methodik und Erkenntnisgewinn.

Die gestalterischen, handwerklichen oder zeichnerischen Vertiefungsarbeiten werden öffentlich ausgestellt, rein schriftliche Vertiefungsarbeiten öffentlich zugänglich gemacht.
Bereich Geschichte und Theorie der Architektur
Festlegen des Themas durch ProfessorInnen, in Absprache mit den Studierenden (Themenvorschlag/Inhalt eines Wahlfachs).

Leistungskontrolle: Rein schriftliche Arbeit mit anschliessender mündlicher Prüfung ODER gestalterische, handwerkliche oder zeichnerische Arbeit, einschliesslich Beschrieb, mit anschliessender mündlicher Prüfung. Mindestens eine Vertiefungsarbeit hat die Form einer rein schriftlichen Arbeit mit anschliessender mündlicher Prüfung. Dabei erfüllt die schriftliche Arbeit in formaler Hinsicht die Kriterien einer wissenschaftlichen Arbeit. Sie umfasst neben dem gestalterischen, handwerklichen oder zeichnerischen Teil einen schriftlichen Beschrieb zu Fragestellung, Methodik und möglichem Erkenntnisgewinn.

Die gestalterischen, handwerklichen oder zeichnerischen Vertiefungsarbeiten werden öffentlich ausgestellt, rein schriftliche Vertiefungsarbeiten öffentlich zugänglich gemacht.
Informationen zu Prüfungen und Bewertungen s. Art. 29 Studienreglement MSc D-ARCH.
NummerTitelTypECTSUmfangDozierende
063-0852-21LVertiefungsarbeit FS21 im Bereich Geschichte und Theorie der Architektur (gta) Information W6 KP13ABetreuer/innen
KurzbeschreibungVertiefungsarbeit des Instituts gta, dessen Inhalt sich auch auf ein Wahlfach beziehen kann.
Das Thema wird in Absprache mit dem gewählten Professor/Professorin festgelegt.
LernzielEs entsteht entweder eine rein schriftliche Arbeit mit anschliessender mündlicher Prüfung oder eine gestalterische, handwerkliche oder zeichnerische Arbeit - einschliesslich Beschrieb - mit anschliessender mündlicher Prüfung.

Bei mind. einer Vertiefungsarbeit muss die Leistungskontrolle in Form einer rein schriftlichen Arbeit mit anschliessender mündlicher Prüfung erfolgen. Die schriftliche Arbeit muss in formaler Hinsicht die Kriterien
einer wissenschaftlichen Arbeit erfüllen.

Eine gestalterische Arbeit umfasst neben dem gestalterischen, handwerklichen oder zeichnerischen Teil einen schriftlichen Beschrieb zur Fragestellung, Methodik und zum möglichem Erkenntnisgewinn der Arbeit.

Die schriftliche bzw. gestalterische, handwerkliche oder zeichnerische Arbeit und die mündliche Prüfung werden je einzeln bewertet. Diese beiden Bewertungen werden miteinander verrechnet und ergeben die Gesamtnote für die Vertiefungsarbeit.
InhaltVertiefungsarbeiten werden in den jeweiligen Fachgebieten der Institute ausgeführt. Die Professoren und Professorinnen legen die Themen in Absprache mit den Studierenden fest. Der Inhalt der Vertiefungsarbeit kann sich auch auf den Inhalt eines Wahlfachs beziehen.

Die Leistungskontrolle umfasst entweder eine rein schriftliche Arbeit mit anschliessender mündlicher Prüfung, oder eine gestalterische, handwerkliche oder zeichnerische Arbeit, einschliesslich Beschrieb, mit anschliessender mündlicher Prüfung.
Mindestens bei einer Vertiefungsarbeit muss die Leistungskontrolle in Form einer rein schriftlichen Arbeit mit anschliessender mündlicher Prüfung (Reglement Abs.2 Bst.a) erfolgen. Dabei muss die schriftliche Arbeit in formaler Hinsicht die Kriterien einer wissenschaftlichen Arbeit erfüllen. Sie umfasst neben dem gestalterischen, handwerklichen oder zeichnerischen Teil einen schriftlichen Beschrieb zur Fragestellung, zur Methodik und zum möglichen Erkenntnisgewinn der Arbeit.

Die Studierenden legen die mündliche Prüfung beim Professor/bei der Professorin ab, mit dem/der sie das Thema der Vertiefungsarbeit abgesprochen haben.

Die schriftliche bzw. gestalterische, handwerkliche oder zeichnerische Arbeit und die mündliche Prüfung werden je einzeln bewertet. Diese beiden Bewertungen werden miteinander verrechnet und ergeben die Gesamtnote für die Vertiefungsarbeit. Vorbehalten bleibt Abs. 7.

Die mündliche Prüfung kann nur abgelegt werden, wenn die schriftliche Arbeit bzw. die gestalterische, handwerkliche oder zeichnerische Arbeit genügend ist.

Eine Vertiefungsarbeit ist bestanden, wenn die Gesamtnote nach mindestens 4 beträgt.
Sie gilt als nicht bestanden, wenn die Gesamtnote unter 4 liegt; wenn die schriftliche bzw. die gestalterische, handwerkliche oder zeichnerische Arbeit ungenügend ist und deshalb die mündliche Prüfung nicht abgelegt werden kann; in einem solchen Fall wird das Nichtbestehen mit dem Begriff „Abbruch“ vermerkt.

Eine nicht bestandene Vertiefungsarbeit kann nicht wiederholt werden. Für den Erwerb der erforderlichen KP muss eine weitere Vertiefungsarbeit ausgeführt werden und die Leistung mit einer Gesamtnote von mindestens 4 bewertet sein. Die Anzahl Versuche ist beschränkt (s. Reglement).

Wird mehr als eine Lerneinheit „Vertiefungsarbeit“ nicht bestanden, so gilt der Studiengang als endgültig nicht bestanden, was zum Ausschluss aus dem Studiengang führt.

Die gestalterischen, handwerklichen oder zeichnerischen Vertiefungsarbeiten werden öffentlich ausgestellt. Rein schriftliche Vertiefungsarbeiten werden öffentlich zugänglich gemacht.
Voraussetzungen / BesonderesDie Vertiefungsarbeit kann zu einem vorgegebenen oder selbst gewählten Thema der Architektur ausgeführt werden. Werden mehrere Arbeiten ausgeführt, so sind sie aus den Fachbereichen von mindestens zwei verschiedenen Instituten des D-ARCH zu wählen. Die Einzelheiten sind in Art 34 geregelt.
063-0120-21LArchitekturtheorie IV (Wahlfacharbeit) Information W6 KP13AM. Gnehm
KurzbeschreibungEine Wahlfacharbeit in Architekturtheorie ist eine schriftliche studentische Hausarbeit zu einer selbst gewählten Fragestellung, die in Absprache mit dem Betreuer in Form eines wissenschaftlichen Texts ausgearbeitet wird.
LernzielIm Rahmen einer Wahlfacharbeit werden die im Fach Architekturtheorie erarbeiteten Kenntnisse schriftlich vertieft. Die Wahlfacharbeit dient der Aneignung von Methoden, der Herleitung, Erarbeitung und Formulierung von Schlussfolgerungen sowie der Einbettung in theoretische Zusammenhänge.
InhaltDie Inhalte der Wahlfacharbeiten in Architekturtheorie sollen einen Zusammenhang mit dem unterrichteten Stoff aufweisen.
063-0170-21LSeminar Architekturkritik (Wahlfacharbeit) Information Belegung eingeschränkt - Details anzeigen W6 KP13AL. Stalder
KurzbeschreibungIn drei Wahlfächern muss je eine Wahlfacharbeit (Seminararbeit)
verfasst werden.
LernzielWahlfacharbeiten dienen der eigenständigen Auseinandersetzung mit den Inhalten der entsprechenden Wahlfächer und setzen eine wissenschaftliche Einarbeitung in die Thematik voraus. Der Umfang einer Wahlfacharbeit beträgt in der Regel zwanzig bis dreissig Seiten.
Voraussetzungen / BesonderesWir bitten interessierte Studierende direkt mit uns einen Termin zu vereinbaren, um mögliche Projekte zu besprechen.
063-0172-21LGeschichte, Kritik und Theorie der Architektur (Wahlfacharbeit) Information Belegung eingeschränkt - Details anzeigen W6 KP13AL. Stalder
KurzbeschreibungIn drei Wahlfächern muss je eine Wahlfacharbeit (Seminararbeit) verfasst werden. Wahlfacharbeiten dienen der eigenständigen Auseinandersetzung mit den Inhalten der entsprechenden Wahlfächer.
LernzielDas Ziel ist das Entwickeln einer architekturtheoretischen oder kulturgeschichtlichen Fragestellung und Behandlung in einem wissenschaftlichen Text. Die eigene Standpunkte und Argumentationen sollen dabei auf der Grundlage von Quellen und Forschungsliteratur erarbeitet und nachvollziehbar dargelegt werden.
063-0318-21LKunst- und Architekturgeschichte (Wahlfacharbeit) Information Belegung eingeschränkt - Details anzeigen W6 KP13AM. Delbeke
KurzbeschreibungEigenständige Arbeit aus dem Bereich der Architekturgeschichte
LernzielDas selbständige Erarbeiten eines wissenschaftlichen Essays aus dem Themenbereich der Architekturgeschichte.
InhaltZiel der Wahlfacharbeit ist es, in Abstimmung mit der Assistenz ein frei gewähltes Thema aus dem Bereich der Architekturgeschichte selbständig zu bearbeiten. Neben eigenen Ideen sollen Positionen der Forschung berücksichtigt werden; auf eine korrekte wissenschaftliche Form und klare sprachliche Vermittlung wird Wert gelegt. Die Arbeit umfasst etwa 36'000 Zeichen sowie Bildmaterial nach Bedarf. Bei Beginn und vor Abgabe der Arbeit findet eine ausführliche Besprechung statt.
063-0320-21LKunst- und Architekturgeschichte (Wahlfacharbeit P. Ursprung) Information Belegung eingeschränkt - Details anzeigen W6 KP13AN. Zschocke, T. Klauser, B. Seidel, A. Smith, P. Ursprung
KurzbeschreibungEigenständige, schriftliche und wissenschaftliche Arbeit zu einer abgegrenzten monographischen oder thematischen Fragestellung aus dem Gegenstandsbereich der Kunst- und Architekturgeschichte.
LernzielDas Ziel ist das Verfassen einer eigenständigen, schriftlichen und wissenschaftlichen Arbeit zu einer abgegrenzten monographischen oder thematischen Fragestellung aus dem Gegenstandsbereich des Fachs Kunst- und Architekturgeschichte. Mit der Arbeit soll auf exemplarische Weise ein vertiefter Einblick in die Fragestellungen und Methoden der Kunstgeschichte der Neuzeit gewonnen werden.
InhaltZiel der Wahlfacharbeit ist es, in Abstimmung mit der Assistenz ein frei gewähltes Thema aus dem Bereich der Architekturgeschichte selbständig zu bearbeiten. Neben eigenen Ideen sollen Positionen der Forschung berücksichtigt werden; auf eine korrekte wissenschaftliche Form und klare sprachliche Vermittlung wird Wert gelegt. Die Arbeit umfasst etwa 36'000 Zeichen sowie Bildmaterial nach Bedarf. Bei Beginn und vor Abgabe der Arbeit findet eine ausführliche Besprechung statt.
Voraussetzungen / BesonderesInteressierte Studierende vereinbaren individuell einen Besprechungstermin an der Professur.

Wahlfacharbeiten können in verschiedenen Medien (Text, Video, Fotografie, Performance) realisiert werden.
Betreuung durch wissenschaftliche Mitarbeitende der Professur für Kunst- und Architekturgeschichte, Philip Ursprung.
063-0368-21LGeschichte des Städtebaus (Wahlfacharbeit) Information Belegung eingeschränkt - Details anzeigen W6 KP13AT. Avermaete
KurzbeschreibungIn drei Wahlfächern muss je eine Wahlfacharbeit (Seminararbeit) verfasst werden. Wahlfacharbeiten dienen der eigenständigen Auseinandersetzung mit den Inhalten der entsprechenden Wahlfächer.
LernzielZiel der Wahlfacharbeit ist es, wissenschaftliches Arbeiten zu erlernen. Dies besteht sowohl in einer inhaltlichen Strukturierung, wie auch im Einhalten gewisser wissenschaftlicher Regeln.
Voraussetzungen / BesonderesEinschreibung nur nach Vereinbarung mit dem Dozenten.

Besonderes: Die Wahlfacharbeit muss bis spätestens 31. Mai 2017 dem Dozenten abgegeben werden.
063-0370-21LTheorie des Städtebaus (Wahlfacharbeit) Information Belegung eingeschränkt - Details anzeigen W6 KP13AT. Avermaete
KurzbeschreibungAus dem Seminar mit dem Schwerpunkt zur Stadtbaugeschichte von Zürich soll eine Hypothese und Fragestellung entwickelt werden, die mit der Wahlfacharbeit beantwortet werden soll.
LernzielLernziel ist der wissenschaftliche Umgang mit theoretischen Schriften zur Stadt; von der Programmschrift über Erläuterungstexte bis hin zu literarischen Vorlagen.
Voraussetzungen / BesonderesEinschreibung nur nach Absprache mit dem Dozenten möglich.
  •  Seite  1  von  1