061-0110-00L  History and Theory of Landscape Architecture II

SemesterSpring Semester 2023
LecturersA. Bucher
Periodicityyearly recurring course
Language of instructionGerman


AbstractLandscape as a multiperspective phenomenon combines different scientific disciplines, epistemological viewpoints and different practices. Which dimensions are currently relevant for their understanding and design? The course discusses currently relevant theories and comprehensions of landscape in their respective contexts of thought as well as on the basis of case studies and exemplary projects.
ObjectiveThe course provides an overview of currently relevant understandings and theories of landscape. Students learn about different theoretical perspectives and case studies and how to relate them to their own work. The goal is to develop a sustainable basis for thinking and acting for a context-sensitive design practice that is embedded in larger contexts/problem situations.
ContentLandscape as a multi-perspective subject has problematized the dichotomy of nature and culture/art/technology as well as existing disciplinary determinations. Landscape means many things at the same time and is basically in a state of change.
The course discusses different assumptions and viewpoints that has shaped the understanding of landscape (and nature), as well as its planning and design, in recent decades. It starts from landscape as an expanded field in which not only specifically scientific, but also overarching aesthetic, ecological, global, indigenous, decolonial, feminist, participatory, hybrid and other conceptions of landscape and nature have become established. Along these different theoretical conceptions and landscape discourses and in view of significant case studies and landscape practices, an understanding of nature and landscape adapted to the problem situation shall be discussed.
LiteratureA definitive reading list will be provided at the beginning of the course
Prerequisites / Notice1st priority: MScLA
2nd priority: MScARCH
Student limit: 18

It is also highly recommended to visit the
lecture series D-ARCH, LV-063-0502-00 (no credits).

061-0110-00L  Geschichte und Theorie der Landschaftsarchitektur II

SemesterFrühjahrssemester 2023
DozierendeA. Bucher
Periodizitätjährlich wiederkehrende Veranstaltung
LehrspracheDeutsch


KurzbeschreibungLandschaft verbindet verschiedene wissenschaftliche Disziplinen, erkenntnistheoretische Standpunkte und unterschiedliche Praxen. Welche Dimensionen sind gegenwärtig für ihr Verständnis und ihre Gestaltung relevant? Die Vorlesung diskutiert gegenwärtig relevante Theorien und Verständnisse von Landschaft in ihren jeweiligen Denkkontexten sowie anhand von Fallstudien und exemplarischen Projekten.
LernzielDie Studierenden erhalten einen Überblick über gegenwärtig relevante Verständnisse und Theorien der Landschaft. Sie lernen verschiedene Theorieperspektiven und Fallbeispiele kennen und diese in Bezug zu ihrer eigenen Arbeit zu setzen. Ziel ist es, tragfähige Denk- und Handlungsgrundlagen für eine kontextsensitive Design Praxis zu erarbeiten.
InhaltLandschaft ist ein multiperspektivischer Gegenstand, der sowohl den dichotomen Denkrahmen von Natur und Kultur/Kunst/Technik als auch disziplinäre Bestimmungen längst gesprengt hat. Landschaft bedeutet vieles gleichzeitig und stets im Wandel.
Die Vorlesung stellt unterschiedliche Annahmen und Standpunkte zur Diskussion, die in den letzten Jahrzehnten das Verständnis von Landschaft (und Natur), sowie ihre Planung und Gestaltung beeinflusst haben. Es geht von Landschaft als einem erweiterten Feld aus in dem sich nicht nur spezifisch wissenschaftliche, sondern auch übergreifende ästhetische, ökologische, globale, indigene, dekoloniale, feministische, partizipative, hybride und weitere Konzeptionen von Landschaft und Natur etabliert haben. Entlang dieser unterschiedlichen Theoriekonzeptionen und Landschaftsdiskurse und angesichts signifikanter Fallbeispiele und Landschaftspraxen soll ein der Problemlage angepasstes Natur- und Landschaftsverständnis verhandelt werden.
LiteraturEine definitive Bibliographie wird zu Beginn der Veranstaltung bekannt gegeben.
Voraussetzungen / Besonderes1. Priorität: MScLA
2. Priorität: MScARCH
Teilnehmerbegrenzung: 18

Es wird empfohlen, die Ringvorlesung D-ARCH, LV 063-0502-00 zu besuchen (keine ECTS).