551-0127-01L  Plants and Fungi

SemesterAutumn Semester 2021
LecturersS. C. Zeeman, M. Künzler, O. Y. Martin
Periodicityyearly recurring course
Language of instructionGerman


AbstractThe lecture conveys the fundamental concepts underlying multicellularity with an emphasis on the molecular basis of multicellular biological systems and their functional integration into coherent wholes. The structural and functional specialization in multicellular organisms will be discussed by highlighting common and specific functions in fungi and plant.s
Objective1.Students can describe advantages and challenges associated with being multicellular and outline independent solutions that organisms have developed to cope with the challenges of complex multicellularity
.
2.Students can explain how the internal and external structures of fungi and plants function to support survival, growth, behavior, and reproduction.

3.Students can explain the basic pathways and mechanisms of cellular communication regulating cellular behavior (cell adhesion, metabolism, proliferation, reproduction, development).

4.Students can describe how a single cell develops from one cell into many, each with different specialized functions.
ContentThe lecture introduces the structural and functional specialization in fungi and plants. After providing an overview on the diversity of eukaryotic organisms, the lecture will discuss how fungi and plants have evolved structures and strategies to cope with the challenges of multicellularity. The molecular basis underlying communication, coordination and differentiation will be conveyed and complemented by key aspects of reproduction, metabolism development, and regeneration. Topics include form and function of fungi and plants, metabolism, cell signaling, adhesion, stem cells, regeneration, reproduction, and development.
LiteratureAlberts et al. 'Molecular Biology of the Cell' 6th edition
Smith A.M., et al. “Plant Biology” Garland Science, New York, Oxford
Campbell “Biology”, 11th Edition
Prerequisites / NoticeSome lecture are held in English.

551-0127-01L  Pflanzen und Pilze

SemesterHerbstsemester 2021
DozierendeS. C. Zeeman, M. Künzler, O. Y. Martin
Periodizitätjährlich wiederkehrende Veranstaltung
LehrspracheDeutsch


KurzbeschreibungVermittelt werden die grundlegenden Konzepte der Multizellularität, mit Schwerpunkt auf der molekularen Basis multizellularer biologischer Systeme und ihrer funktionellen Integration in kohärente Ganzheiten. Die strukturelle und funktionelle Spezialisierung wird anhand gemeinsamer und spezifischer Funktionen bei Pilzen und Pflanzen diskutiert.
Lernziel1. Die Studierenden können Vorteile und Herausforderungen, die mit dem Vielzellersein verbunden sind, beschreiben und eigenständige Lösungen skizzieren, die Organismen entwickelt haben, um mit den Herausforderungen der komplexen Vielzelligkeit umzugehen.

2. Die Studierenden können erklären, wie die inneren und äußeren Strukturen von Pilzen und Pflanzen funktionieren, um Überleben, Wachstum, Verhalten und Fortpflanzung zu unterstützen.

3. Die Studierenden können die grundlegenden Wege und Mechanismen der zellulären Kommunikation erklären, die das zelluläre Verhalten regulieren (Zelladhäsion, Stoffwechsel, Proliferation, Reproduktion, Entwicklung).

4. Die Studierenden können beschreiben, wie sich aus einer einzelnen Zelle viele Zellen entwickeln, die jeweils unterschiedliche spezialisierte Funktionen haben.
InhaltDie Vorlesung führt in die strukturelle und funktionelle Spezialisierung bei Pilzen und Pflanzen ein. Nach einem Überblick über die Vielfalt der eukaryotischen Organismen wird diskutiert, wie Pilze und Pflanzen Strukturen und Strategien entwickelt haben, um mit den Herausforderungen der Vielzelligkeit zurechtzukommen. Die molekularen Grundlagen der Kommunikation, Koordination und Differenzierung werden vermittelt und durch Schlüsselaspekte der Reproduktion, des Stoffwechsels, der Entwicklung und der Regeneration ergänzt. Die Themen umfassen Form und Funktion von Pilzen und Pflanzen, Stoffwechsel, Zellsignalisierung, Adhäsion, Stammzellen, Regeneration, Reproduktion und Entwicklung.
LiteraturAlberts et al. 'Molecular Biology of the Cell' 6. Auflage
Smith A.M., et al. "Pflanzenbiologie" Garland Science, New York, Oxford
Campbell "Biologie", 11. Auflage
Voraussetzungen / BesonderesEinige Vorlesungseinheiten werden in englischer Sprache gehalten.