862-0109-00L  Knowledge as Texture

SemesterSpring Semester 2021
LecturersA. Kilcher
Periodicitynon-recurring course
Language of instructionGerman
CommentOnly for students MA History and Philosophy of Knowledge.


AbstractKnowledge is objectified as an object in practice. At the same time one can know, but also understand it as a function of relation: as relationship and occupation, or with a metaphorical and at the same time model-like concept: as "texture". We will analyze approaches from the premodern to post-structuralist, character and (context) text theory designs.
Objective- Analysis of epistemological approaches between philosophy, semiotics and text theory
- Analysis of forms and functions of correlation, linking, networking
- Selection and discussion of texts in clusters
ContentKnowledge is usually substantialized and objectified as an object. At the same time, knowledge can also be understood as a function of forms of relation: as a relationship and connection, or spoken with a metaphorical and at the same time model-like field of terms from the “textile” area: as “texture”.
The aim of the seminar is to analyze approaches that develop the formulation of scientific contexts and discourses in such a way as "texture" that understand knowledge as the result of the networking of elements. To what extent is, then, one might ask, the formation of forms of knowledge linked to internal and external reference contexts? How does knowledge appear to us as a system and context, if not captured in a more or less latent or manifest reference structure? This links among other things also to Foucault's concept of the dispositive, which is structured like a network, a fabric and in which the objects of knowledge appear and come to rest in the first place. Accordingly, formal concepts of knowledge are analyzed from a comparative perspective, whereby premodern approaches as well as post-structuralist, semiotic and text-theoretical drafts are included (including Michel Serres, Umberto Eco).

In the seminar - also on the basis of suggestions from the participants - texts in the form of clusters are to be discussed, which in turn build a kind of network to test the performance of this approach.

862-0109-00L  Wissen als Textur

SemesterFrühjahrssemester 2021
DozierendeA. Kilcher
Periodizitäteinmalige Veranstaltung
LehrspracheDeutsch
KommentarNur für Studierende MA Geschichte und Philosophie des Wissens.


KurzbeschreibungWissen wird üblicherweise als Gegenstand objektiviert. Zugleich lässt sich Wissen aber auch als Funktion von Relationierung verstehen: als Verhältnis und Verknüpfung, oder mit einem metaphorischen und zugleich modellhaften Begriff: als «Textur». Analysiert werden entsprechende Ansätze von der Vormoderne bis hin zu poststrukturalistischen, zeichen- und (kon-)texttheoretischen Entwürfen.
Lernziel- Analyse wissenschaftstheoretischer Ansätze zwischen Philosophie, Semiotik und Texttheorie
- Analyse von Formen und Funktionen der Korrelation, Verknüpfung, Vernetzung
- Auswahl und Diskussion von Texten in Clustern
InhaltWissen wird üblicherweise als Gegenstand substantialisiert und objektiviert. Zugleich lässt sich Wissen aber auch als Funktion von Formen der Relationierung verstehen: als Verhältnis und Verknüpfung, oder mit einem metaphorischen und zugleich modellhaften Begriffsfeld aus dem «textilen» Bereich gesprochen: als «Textur».
In dem Seminar soll es darum gehen, Ansätze zu analysieren, die die Ausformulierung von wissenschaftlichen Aussagezusammenhängen und Diskursen dergestalt als «Textur» entwickeln, die mithin Wissen als Ergebnis von Vernetzung von Elementen verstehen. Inwiefern ist, so liesse sich demnach fragen, die Ausbildung von Wissensformen an innere und äussere Verweiszusammenhänge gebunden? Wie erscheint uns Wissen als System und Zusammenhang, wenn nicht aufgefangen in einer mehr oder weniger latenten oder manifesten Verweisstruktur? Dies knüpft u.a. auch an Foucaults Begriff des Dispositivs an, der wie ein Netz, ein Gewebe strukturiert ist und in dem die Objekte des Wissens überhaupt erst erscheinen und zu liegen kommen. Analysiert werden demzufolge formale Begriffe des Wissens in vergleichender Perspektive, wobei vormoderne Ansätze ebenso wie poststrukturalistische, semiotische und texttheoretische Entwürfe mit einbezogen werden (u.a. Michel Serres, Umberto Eco).

In dem Seminar sollen – auch auf der Basis von Vorschlägen der Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer – Texte in Form von Clustern diskutiert werden, die ihrerseits wiederum eine Art Netz aufbauen, auch um die Performanz dieses Ansatzes zu erproben.