052-1151-20L  Architectural Design V-IX: New City Landscapes - Focal Points of Urban Densification (M. Brakebusch)

SemesterAutumn Semester 2020
LecturersM. Brakebusch Geser
Periodicityevery semester recurring course
Language of instructionGerman
CommentPlease register (Link) only after the internal enrolment for the design classes (see Link).
Teaching Language is German and English.

Project grading at semester end is based on the list of enrolments on 3rd November 2020, 24:00 h (valuation date) only.

Ultimate deadline to unsubscribe or enroll for the studio is 3.11.2020, 24:00 h.


AbstractThe global phenomenon of rising temperatures as a result of climate change requires, based on local conditions, individual solutions for the increasingly heated and dense urban space. The heat reduction programs presented describe fields of action and approaches that are targeted at specific points and that remain at the political and administrative boundaries.
Objective- Analyzing the landscape framework for the development of the city
- Learning the basics of urban climate planning
- Development of a specific vocabulary (concepts) in the field of landscape architecture
- Developing an urban / landscape architecture project
ContentThe world’s temperature is rising at an unprecedented rate due to climate change. This global phenomenon requires individual solutions based on local conditions in order to tackle the problems of density and heat in urban areas. Nevertheless, current heat reduction programmes describe fields of action and approaches that are selective and constrained by political and administrative boundaries.
The federalisation of Switzerland, however, has led to a unified, national, urban settlement along the Swiss Central Plateau, the extent of which is dictated by the geomorphology of Switzerland and the mountain ranges of the Jura and the Alps that surround it. The three metropolitan areas of Geneva, Basel and Zurich extend from east to west, which, in addition to their dense urban development, also show the greatest calculated rise in temperature.

In the design studio Neue Stadtlandschaften we will use cartographic and statistical surveys, digital and analogue, to explore the boundaries of the individual metropolitan areas in relation to their possible densification and cooling tendencies. In the coming autumn semester we will start our journey in the west with the metropolitan area of Zurich and continue in the spring semester with our second case-study: Basel.

To begin, a three-week analysis will be carried out in groups. Experts will impart their knowledge and explain the tools they use, including the application of GIS programs, to understand the city’s climate. This will be followed by a synthesis workshop in which our findings will be spatially evaluated, aiming to locate and define areas for subsequent design and intervention. After the seminar week, each individual will determine more precisely the perimeter and scope for their own urban, landscape architectural design. The specialist vocabulary and knowledge imparted throughout the first phase will form the basis for discussion between students and teachers, allowing for productive discourse and formulation of ideas.
Prerequisites / NoticeIndividual work and group work, thereof 3-4 weeks of group work.
No extra costs.

052-1151-20L  Entwurf V-IX: Neue Stadtlandschaften - Brennpunkte urbaner Verdichtung (M. Brakebusch)

SemesterHerbstsemester 2020
DozierendeM. Brakebusch Geser
Periodizitätjedes Semester wiederkehrende Veranstaltung
LehrspracheDeutsch
KommentarDie Belegung unter myStudies ist erst nach der Zuteilung der Entwurfsklasse am Schluss der internen Einschreibung am D-ARCH möglich (s. Link).

Eine Benotung des Entwurfs am Semesterende erfolgt ausschliesslich aufgrund der per Stichtag, 3. November 2020, 24:00 Uhr, dokumentierten Belegungsliste.

Letzter Termin zum Löschen/Belegen der Lehrveranstaltung Entwurf: 3.11.2020, 24:00 Uhr.


KurzbeschreibungDas globale Phänomen des Temperaturanstieges in Folge des Klimawandels erfordert, basierend auf den lokalen Konditionen, individuelle Lösungen für den sich immer stärker erhitzenden und verdichteten Stadtraum. Vorgestellte Programme zur Hitzeminderung beschreiben Handlungsfelder und -ansätze, die punktuell gedacht sind und an den politisch administrativen Grenzen verbleiben.
Lernziel- Analysieren der landschaftlichen Rahmenbedingungen für die Entwicklung der Stadt
- Erlernen der Grundlagen stadtklimatischer Planung
- Entwickeln eines spezifischen Vokabulars (Begrifflichkeiten) im Bereich der Landschaftsarchitektur
- Erarbeiten eines städtebaulichen/ landschaftsarchitektonischen Projektes
InhaltDer Föderalismus der Schweiz führt aber zu einer flächendeckenden Besiedlung des Schweizer Mittellandes, dessen Ausdehnung durch die Geomorphologie der Schweiz mit den Gebirgszügen des Juras und der Alpen gegeben ist. Von Osten nach Westen erstrecken sich die drei Metropolitanräume Genf, Basel und Zürich, die neben ihrer städtebaulichen Verdichtung, auch den grössten errechneten Temperaturanstieg aufweisen.

Im Entwurfsstudio Neue Stadtlandschaften loten wir mit Hilfe von kartographischen und statistischen Erhebungen, digital und analog, die Grenzen der einzelnen Metropolitanräume in Bezug auf ihre mögliche Verdichtung und Kühlung aus. In diesem Herbstsemester starten wir im Osten mit dem Metropolitanraum Zürich und folgen im Frühlingssemester mit einer zweiten Tiefenbohrung in Basel.
Einer dreiwöchigen Analysephase in Gruppenarbeit, bei der durch Experten Wissen und Werkzeuge im Bereich des Stadtklimas und der GIS-Anwendung vermittelt werden, folgt die räumlich wertende Synthesephase im gemeinsamen Workshop. Diese hat das Ziel einen eingrenzbaren Handlungsraum/räume für den anschliessenden Entwurf zu lokalisieren. Nach der Seminarwoche startet die individuelle Bestimmung des eigenen Perimeters für den städtebaulichen, landschaftsarchitektonischen Entwurf. Dabei vermitteltes fachspezifisches Vokabular und Wissen helfen im Diskurs mit den Lehrenden über die eigenen Ideen für den Ort und seine landschaftsarchitektonische Ausformulierung zu sprechen.
Voraussetzungen / BesonderesEinzel- und Gruppenarbeit, davon 3 bis 4 Wochen Gruppenarbeit.
Keine Extrakosten.