529-0129-AAL  Inorganic and Organic Chemistry II

SemesterAutumn Semester 2019
LecturersA. Mezzetti, V. Mougel
Periodicityevery semester recurring course
Language of instructionEnglish
CommentEnrolment ONLY for MSc students with a decree declaring this course unit as an additional admission requirement.

Any other students (e.g. incoming exchange students, doctoral students) CANNOT enrol for this course unit.


AbstractIntroduction to the experimental methods of Inorganic Chemistry
ObjectiveThe teaching laboratory offers an insight into different aspects of Inorganic Chemistry, including solid state chemistry, organometallic chemistry, kinetics, etc.. The synthesis, characterization and analysis of inorganic compound are a main topic. Emphasis is given to scientific writing (experiment reports).
ContentInorganic chemistry part: Synthesis and analysis of elemento-organic compounds, metal complexes, and organometallic compounds. Introduction to Schlenk techniques, solid state synthesis, and kinetics. Introduction in the chemistry library: literature data banks and collections of spectra.
Organic synthesis with organometallic compounds and catalysts: Experiments in the framework of a selected specialised project. Possible projects: Rh catalysed asymmetric hydrogenation of enamides, Mn-catalysed epoxidation of olefins, Cu catalysed Diels-Alder reactions, synthesis of organo-boron compounds and Pd catalysed coupling with halides, Ru catalysed transfer hydrogenation.
Lecture notesA manual is distributed in the teaching laboratory.
Prerequisites / NoticePrerequisites:
- Practical Course General Chemistry (1. Semester, 529-0011-04)
- Practical Course Inorg. and Org. Chemistry I (2. Sem., 529-0230)
- Attendance of Course Inorg. Chemistry 1 (3. Sem., 529-0121)
If necessary, access priority will be settled according to the results of the first-year examinations.

529-0129-AAL  Inorganic and Organic Chemistry II

SemesterHerbstsemester 2019
DozierendeA. Mezzetti, V. Mougel
Periodizitätjedes Semester wiederkehrende Veranstaltung
LehrspracheEnglisch
KommentarBelegung ist NUR erlaubt für MSc Studierende, die diese Lerneinheit als Auflagenfach verfügt haben.

Alle andere Studierenden (u.a. auch Mobilitätsstudierende, Doktorierende) können diese Lerneinheit NICHT belegen.


KurzbeschreibungEinführung in die experimentellen Methoden der Anorganischen Chemie.
LernzielDas Praktikum bietet einen Einblick in verschiedene Arbeitsgebiete der anorganischen Chemie an: Festkörperchemie, metallorganische Chemie, Kinetik, und andere. Ein Schwerpunkt liegt auf der Synthese von anorganischen Verbindungen, deren Charakterisierung und Analyse. Die gesamte Arbeit wird in wissenschaftlich abgefassten Berichten dargelegt.
InhaltAnorganisch-chemischer Teil: Synthese und Analyse von Elementorganischen Verbindungen, Metallkomplexen und Metallorganischen Verbindungen. Einführung in die Schlenk-Technik, Festkörpersynthese und Kinetik. Einführung in die Chemiebibliothek: Umgang mit Literaturdatenbanken und Spektrenbibliotheken.
Organische Synthese mit metallorganischen Verbindungen und Katalyse: Versuche im Rahmen ausgewählter Schwerpunktprojekte (mögliche Projekte: Rh-katalysierte asymmetrische Hydrierung von Enamiden, Mn-katalysierte Epoxidierung von Olefinen, Cu-katalysierte Diels-Alder Reaktionen, Synthese von Organoborverbindungen und Pd-katalysierte Kupplung mit Halogeniden, Ru-katalysierte Transfer-Hydrierung).
SkriptEine Anleitung wird im Praktikum verteilt.
Voraussetzungen / BesonderesVoraussetzungen:
- Praktikum Allgemeine Chemie (1. Semester, 529-0011-04)
- Praktikum Anorg. und Org. Chemie I (2. Sem., 529-0230)
- Belegung Vorl. Anorganische Chemie 1 (3. Sem., 529-0121)
Falls nötig wird die Aufnahme nach der Gesamtnote der 1. Basisprüfung priorisiert.