101-0137-00L  Steel Structures III: Advanced Steel and Composite Structures

SemesterAutumn Semester 2021
LecturersA. Taras, U. Angst
Periodicityyearly recurring course
Language of instructionEnglish



Courses

NumberTitleHoursLecturers
101-0137-00 GSteel Structures III: Advanced Steel and Composite Structures2 hrs
Wed09:45-11:30HIL E 3 »
A. Taras, U. Angst

Catalogue data

AbstractExpand the theoretical background and practical knowledge in the design of steel and composite structures. Special composite construction and detailling: partial connection, serviceability. Fire design. Cold-formed steel design. Crane girders; masts; tanks & silos. Structural glazing and lightweight cable-supported structures.
ObjectiveIn Steel Structures III, students will deepen and expand their theoretical background and practical knowledge of the design and construction of steel and composite structures. The focus of the course lies on design tasks and solutions in modern, multi-storey, steel-framed buildings driven by architectural needs, as well as on certain special fields of application of steel structures. Students will learn how to solve complex structural engineering tasks in larger building projects, e.g. through the use and correct design of large-span slim-floor girders and ultra-slender composite columns, or the use of glazing and cable structures as principal load-carrying components. They learn how steel structures behave under fire conditions and how they can be protected and designed accordingly. Finally, students learn about the fundamental aspects governing the design of specialty steel structures, such as thin-walled cold-formed sections, crane girders, masts and storage tanks.

The examples of scientific and standardisation work provided in the lectures give the students the opportunity to learn about the most current developments and see how these are used to shape the future practice in the structural engineering field.
ContentSteel Structures III provides in-depth theoretical background and practical knowledge on advanced design topics in steel and composite structures. The focus of the course lies on design tasks and solutions in modern, multi-storey, steel-framed buildings driven by architectural needs, as well as on certain special fields of application of steel structures. The course discusses the use and design of large-span slim-floor girders and ultra-slender composite columns, as well as the use of glazing and cable structures as principal load-carrying components. The design of steel structures under elevated temperatures (fire conditions) is treated, as well as special topics of design for serviceability. In addition, fundamental concepts of the design of cold-formed steel framed structures are discussed. Finally, the course will give an overview on the design of specialty steel structures, such as crane girders, masts and storage tanks.
Lecture notesSlides and lecture notes. Worked examples. Handouts and formula collections.
LiteratureStahlbaukalender (various editions), Ernst + Sohn, Berlin
Prerequisites / NoticePrerequisites: Steel Structures I and II

Performance assessment

Performance assessment information (valid until the course unit is held again)
Performance assessment as a semester course
ECTS credits3 credits
ExaminersA. Taras
Typesession examination
Language of examinationEnglish
RepetitionThe performance assessment is offered every session. Repetition possible without re-enrolling for the course unit.
Mode of examinationoral 40 minutes
Additional information on mode of examination20 minutes preparation, followed by 20 minutes oral examination
This information can be updated until the beginning of the semester; information on the examination timetable is binding.

Learning materials

No public learning materials available.
Only public learning materials are listed.

Groups

No information on groups available.

Restrictions

There are no additional restrictions for the registration.

Offered in

ProgrammeSectionType
Civil Engineering MasterMajor in Structural EngineeringOInformation

101-0137-00L  Steel Structures III: Advanced Steel and Composite Structures

SemesterHerbstsemester 2021
DozierendeA. Taras, U. Angst
Periodizitätjährlich wiederkehrende Veranstaltung
LehrspracheEnglisch



Lehrveranstaltungen

NummerTitelUmfangDozierende
101-0137-00 GSteel Structures III: Advanced Steel and Composite Structures2 Std.
Mi09:45-11:30HIL E 3 »
A. Taras, U. Angst

Katalogdaten

KurzbeschreibungVertiefen/Erweitern der theoretischen Grundlagen und konstruktiven Aspekte der Planung und Ausführung im Stahl- und Verbundbau. Spezielle Verbundbauteile und Nachweise. Teilverbund. Gebrauchstauglichkeit (Rissbildung, Schwingungen). Brand/Brandschutz, Feuerwiderstandberechnungen. Profilbleche und Kaltprofile. Kranbahnträger, Maste, Behälter. Glasbau und Leichtbau.
LernzielDie Studierenden vertiefen und erweitern in Stahlbau III die vorhandenen theoretischen Grundlagen und Kenntnisse der konstruktiven Belange des Stahlbaus und Verbundbaus. Der Fokus der Lehrveranstaltung liegt auf dem modernen, mehrgeschossigen Stahl- und Verbundhochbau sowie auf Spezialanwendungen des Stahlbaus. Die Studierenden lernen, wie komplexe Aufgaben der Tragwerksplanung im architektonisch geprägten Hochbau gelöst werden können, u.A. durch die Wahl von weitspannenden Flachdecken und extra-schlanken Stützen der Verbundbauweise, durch die Anwendung von tragenden Glaselementen und die Verwendung von Seilen. Sie lernen, wie sich Stahltragwerke bei Brandeinwirkung verhalten und wie sie gegen dieses Szenario zu schützen und zu bemessen sind. Schliesslich setzen sich die Studierenden mit speziellen Bauweisen auseinander (Kranbahnträger, Maste, Behälter), welche besondere Beanspruchungen aufnehmen und mit speziellen Berechnungsverfahren behandelt werden müssen.

Durch die vermittelten Einblicke in die aktuelle Forschung und Normungstätigkeit werden die Studierenden auch über laufende Entwicklungen informiert und lernen, wie diese in ihre zukünftige Praxis einfliessen.
InhaltIn Stahlbau III werden vertiefte theoretischen Grundlagen und Kenntnisse der konstruktiven Belange des Stahl-und Verbundbaus vermittelt, mit einem speziellen Fokus auf dem modernen, architektonisch geprägten Stahl- und Verbundhochbau sowie auf Spezialanwendungen des Stahlbaus. Es wird das Tragverhalten und die Bemessung spezieller Elemente der Verbundbauweise behandelt, swie z.B. Slim-Floor-Träger, ultraschlanke Verbundstützen sowie spezielle Verundanschlüsse. Zudem werden spezielle Themen der Gebraustauglichkeitsnachweise (Schwingungen, Rissbildung) und die Brandbemessung (Heissbemessung) behandelt. Im Kurs werden die Grundlagen des konstruktiven Glasbaus und Leichtbaus (Bauen mit Seilen und Membranen) behandelt. Schliesslich werden spezielle Bauteile und Bauweisen behandelt: Kranbahnträger, Maste, Behälter.
SkriptFolien und Skript. Ausgearbeitete Beispiele. Studienblätter und Formelsammlungen.
LiteraturStahlbaukalender (verschiedene Ausgaben), Ernst + Sohn, Berlin
Voraussetzungen / BesonderesVoraussetzungen: Stahlbau I und II

Leistungskontrolle

Information zur Leistungskontrolle (gültig bis die Lerneinheit neu gelesen wird)
Leistungskontrolle als Semesterkurs
ECTS Kreditpunkte3 KP
PrüfendeA. Taras
FormSessionsprüfung
PrüfungsspracheEnglisch
RepetitionDie Leistungskontrolle wird in jeder Session angeboten. Die Repetition ist ohne erneute Belegung der Lerneinheit möglich.
Prüfungsmodusmündlich 40 Minuten
Zusatzinformation zum Prüfungsmodus20 minutes preparation, followed by 20 minutes oral examination
Diese Angaben können noch zu Semesterbeginn aktualisiert werden; verbindlich sind die Angaben auf dem Prüfungsplan.

Lernmaterialien

Keine öffentlichen Lernmaterialien verfügbar.
Es werden nur die öffentlichen Lernmaterialien aufgeführt.

Gruppen

Keine Informationen zu Gruppen vorhanden.

Einschränkungen

Keine zusätzlichen Belegungseinschränkungen vorhanden.

Angeboten in

StudiengangBereichTyp
Bauingenieurwissenschaften MasterVertiefung in KonstruktionOInformation