151-0731-00L  Forming Technology I - Basic Knowledge

SemesterAutumn Semester 2018
LecturersP. Hora
Periodicityyearly recurring course
Language of instructionGerman


AbstractThe fundamentals of forming technology are ipresented to Mechanical, Production and Material Engineers. The content of the lecture is: Overview of manufacturing with forming techniques, deformation specific description of material properties and their experimental measurement, material laws, residual stresses, heat balance, tribological aspects of forming processes, workpiece and tool failure.
ObjectiveForming technology represents with its 70% global share in manufactured metal volume with respect to yield and cost, the most important manufacturing process in metal-working industries. Typical applications of forming technology range from the manufacturing of sheet metal compontens in auto bodies to applications in food and pharma packaging, fabrication of implants in medical technologies and to the fabrication of leads in microelectronic components. This course introduces the fundamentals which are essential to evaluate metal-forming processes and its industrial applications. This includes, together with the acquirements of the most important forming processes, the characterization of plastic material behavior and manufacturing limits.
ContentOverview of the most important processes of metal-forming technology and its field of applications, characterization of the plastic metal-forming behavior, basic principles of plasto-mechanical calculations, metal-forming residual stresses, thermo-mechanical coupling of metal-forming processes, influence of tribology. Work piece failure through cracking and folding, tool failure through rupture and mechanical wear, metal-forming tools, sheet forming and massive forming processes, handling systems, metal-forming machinery.
Lecture notesja

151-0731-00L  Umformtechnik I - Grundlagen

SemesterHerbstsemester 2018
DozierendeP. Hora
Periodizitätjährlich wiederkehrende Veranstaltung
LehrspracheDeutsch


KurzbeschreibungDie Vorlesung vermittelt Maschinen-, Produktions- und Werkstoffingenieuren die Grundlagen der Umformtechnik. Die Inhalte der Vorlesung sind: Uebersicht über umformtechnische Fertigungsverfahren, umformspezifische Beschreibung der Materialeigenschaften und ihre experimentelle Erfassung, Stoffgesetze, Eigenspannungen, Wärmebilanz, Tribologie von Umformsystemen, Werkstück- und Werkzeugversagen.
LernzielUmformtechnische Verfahren stellen mit einem Anteil von rund 70% bezogen auf die weltweit verarbeitete Metallmenge das mengen- und konstenmässig wichtigste Fertigungsverfahren der metallverarbeitenden Industrie dar. Typische Anwendungen der Umformtechnik reichen von der Blechteilfertigung im Autokarosseriebau, über Anwendungen der Food- und Pharmaverpackung, Herstellung von Implantaten der Medizinaltechnik bis zur Herstellung von Leiterverbindungen bei Mikroelektronikkomponenten. Die Vorlesung vermittelt die wichtigsten Grundlagen, welche zur Beurteilung umformtechnischer Prozesse und ihres industriellen Einsatzes wichtig sind. Dazu gehören neben der Kenntnis der wichtigsten Umformverfahren auch Grundkenntnisse zur Beschreibung des plastischen Werkstoffverhaltens und Kenntnisse der Verfahrensgrenzen.
InhaltUebersicht über die wichtigsten Verfahren der Umformtechnik und ihre Anwendungsgebiete, Beschreibung des plastischen Umformverhaltens von Metallen, Grundlagen der plastomechanischen Berechnungen, Umformeigenspannungen, Thermo-mechanische Kopplung der Umformprozesse, Einfluss der Tribologie. Werkstückversagen durch Reisser und Falten, Werkzeugversagen durch Bruch und Verschleiss, Umformwerkzeuge und Umformprozesse der Blech- und Massivumformung, Handlingsysteme, Umformmaschinen.
Skriptja