Sergey Churakov: Catalogue data in Spring Semester 2023

Name Prof. Dr. Sergey Churakov
Address
Universität Bern
Baltzerstrasse 1+3
3012 Bern
SWITZERLAND
Telephone0316318710
E-mailschurakov@ethz.ch
DepartmentMechanical and Process Engineering
RelationshipLecturer

NumberTitleECTSHoursLecturers
151-0160-00LFuel Cycle and Waste Management
Note: The previous course title until FS22 "Nuclear Energy Systems".
4 credits2V + 1UR. Eichler, S. Churakov, T. Kämpfer, M. Streit
AbstractPhysical and chemical aspects of the synthesis and distribution of uranium, radioactive decay and detection, uranium production, uranium enrichment, nuclear fuel production, reprocessing of spent fuel, nuclear waste disposal and final deep geological repository
ObjectiveStudents get an overview on the physical and chemical fundamentals, the technological processes and the environmental impact of the full energy conversion chain of nuclear power generation including final repository.
Content(1-5) survey on the cosmic and geological origin of uranium and its deposits, (radio-) chemical fundamentals relevant for uranium handling, radiaoctive decay and its detection; (6-9) methods of uranium mining, separation of uranium from the ore, enrichment of uranium (diffusion cells, ultra-centrifuges, alternative methods), chemical conversion uranium oxid - fluorid - oxid, fuel rod fabrication processes, fuel reprocessing (hydrochemical, pyrochemical) including modern developments of deep partitioning as well as methods to treat and minimize the amount and radiotoxicity of nuclear waste. (10-13) nuclear waste disposal, waste categories and origin, geological and engineered barriers in deep geological repositories, the project of a deep geological disposal for radioactive waste in Switzerland
Lecture notesLecture slides will be distributed as handouts and in digital form

Sergey Churakov: Katalogdaten im Frühjahrssemester 2023

NameHerr Prof. Dr. Sergey Churakov
Adresse
Universität Bern
Baltzerstrasse 1+3
3012 Bern
SWITZERLAND
Telefon0316318710
E-Mailschurakov@ethz.ch
DepartementMaschinenbau und Verfahrenstechnik
BeziehungDozent

NummerTitelECTSUmfangDozierende
151-0160-00LFuel Cycle and Waste Management
Note: The previous course title until FS22 "Nuclear Energy Systems".
4 KP2V + 1UR. Eichler, S. Churakov, T. Kämpfer, M. Streit
KurzbeschreibungPhysikalische und chemische Aspekte der Entstehung und Verteilung von Uran, radioaktiver Zerfall und seine Detektion, Urangewinnung, Urananreicherung, Kernbrennstoffherstellung, Wiederaufarbeitung ausgedienter Brennelemente, Entsorgung von radioaktivem Abfall und tiefengeologische Endlagerung
LernzielDie Studenten erhalten einen Überblick über die physikalischen und chemischen Grundlagen, die technologischen Prozesse und die Entwicklungstrends in Bereich der gesamten nuklearen Energieumwandlungskette inklusive Endlagerung
Inhalt(1-5) Überblick über den kosmischen und geologischen Ursprung von Uranvorkommen, (radio-)chemische Grundlagen mit Relevanz zur Urananwendung, Radioaktiver Zerfall und dessen Detektion, (6-9) Methoden des Uranbergbaus, der Urangewinnung aus dem Erz, (6-9) Urananreicherung (Diffusionszellen, Ultrazentrifugen, alternative Methoden), chemische Konvertierung Uranoxid - Fluorid - Oxid, Brennelementfertigung, Abbrand im Reaktor, Wiederaufarbeitung abgebrannter Brennelemente (hydro- und pyrochemisch) einschliesslich der modernen Verfahren der Tiefentrennung hochaktiver Abfälle, Methoden der Minimierung von Menge und Radiotoxizität des nuklearen Abfalls, (10-13) Entsorgung von Nuklearabfall, Abfallkategorien und -herkunft, geologische und künstliche Barrieren in Tiefenlagern und deren Eigenschaften, Projekt für ein geologisches Tiefenlager für radioaktive Abfälle in der Schweiz
SkriptVorlesungsfolien werden verteilt und in digitaler Form bereit gestellt.