Anna Katarina Gilgen: Catalogue data in Autumn Semester 2021

Name Dr. Anna Katarina Gilgen
Address
Professur Graslandwissenschaften
ETH Zürich, LFW C 57.1
Universitätstrasse 2
8092 Zürich
SWITZERLAND
Telephone+41 44 632 30 83
E-mailakgilgen@ethz.ch
DepartmentEnvironmental Systems Science
RelationshipLecturer

NumberTitleECTSHoursLecturers
751-0013-00LWorld Food System Information 4 credits4VA. K. Gilgen, J. Baumgartner, A. Bearth, R. Finger, M. Loessner, R. Mezzenga, B. Studer
AbstractKnowledge about the World Food System will be provided, based on case studies along food value chains in countries with various development stages and dependent on multiple boundary conditions. This shall generate profound understanding of the associated global challenges especially food scarcity, suboptimal diet and nutrition, food quality and safety as well as effects on the environment.
ObjectiveAttending this course, the students will recognize the elements of the World Food System (WFS) approach and the problems it this supposed to treat. They will especially comprehend the four pillars of global food security, namely (I) food availability (including sustainable production and processing), (I) access to food (physical and monetary), (III) food use (including quality and safety as well as the impact on human health and well being) and (IV) resilience to the boundary conditions (environmental, economic and political). This insight will make them aware of the global driving forces behind our ETH research on food security and is expected to alleviate motivation and understanding for the association of subsequent specific courses within a general context. The course equivalently implements agricultural and food sciences, thus supporting the interdisciplinary view on the WFS scope.
ContentCase studies on certain foods of plant and animal origin serve to demonstrate the entire food value chain from the production of raw material to processed food and its consumer relevant property functions. In doing so, important corresponding aspects for developed, emerging and developing countries are demonstrated, by use of engineering as well as natural and social science approaches.
Lecture notesHandouts and links are provided online.
LiteratureInformation on books and other literature references is communicated during the course.
Prerequisites / NoticeThe course shall particularly elucidate the cross section of Agro- and Food Sciences in the context of important global problems to be solved. Furthermore the students in the first year of studies shall be given some insight and outlook supporting the development of their views and interests in agricultural and food sciences further.
The course is part of the block exam after the first study year. Paper copies can be used ("Open Book") during the on-line exam, but no other means are not allowed. The course is taught in German.
751-1010-00LIntroduction to Scientific Methods Part II: Scientific Writing Restricted registration - show details
Only for Agricultural Sciences BSc.
2 credits4GR. Kölliker, J. Anderegg, A. Feurtey, A. K. Gilgen, M. Laub, A. Oberson Dräyer, B. Studer, F. Tamburini, D. J. Wüpper
AbstractDie Studierenden kennen die Grundlagen und die Konventionen des wissenschaftlichen Schreibens in den Naturwissenschaften, können wissenschaftliche Literatur suchen und verwalten sowie wissenschaftliche Publikationen analysieren. Sie setzen das Gelernte beim Schreiben eines eigenen Textes um.
ObjectiveDie Studierenden kennen die Grundlagen und die Konventionen des wissenschaftlichen Schreibens in den Naturwissenschaften. Sie setzen das Gelernte beim Schreiben eines kritischen Literaturberichtes zu einem agrarwissenschaftlichen Thema ihrer Wahl um. Die Lehrveranstaltung bereitet die Studierenden auf weitere schriftliche Arbeiten im Studium der Agrarwissenschaften vor, beispielsweise auf die Bachelor-Arbeit.
Lecture notesEs wird ein Skript abgegeben.
Prerequisites / NoticeDie Note für die LV Wissenschaftliches Arbeiten (Teil I: Grundlagen (WiA) und
Teil II: Wissenschaftliches Schreiben (WiSch)) setzt sich aus den Leistungen der Lehrveranstaltungen im
4. und 5. Semester zusammen. Die Note für WiSch (5. Sem.) zählt zu 80% zur Gesamtnote.
751-4003-01LCurrent Topics in Grassland Sciences (HS) Information 2 credits2SA. K. Gilgen
AbstractResearch results in agro- and forest ecosystem sciences will be presented by experienced researchers as well as Ph.D. and graduate students. Citation classics as well as recent research results will be discussed. Topics will range from plant ecophysiology, biodiversity and biogeochemistry to management aspects in agro- and forest ecosystems.
ObjectiveStudents will be able to understand and evaluate experimental design and data interpretation of on-going studies, be able to critically analyze published research results, practice to present and discuss results in the public, and gain a broad knowledge of recent research and current topics in agro- and forest ecosystem sciences.
ContentResearch results in agro- and forest ecosystem sciences will be presented by experienced researchers as well as Ph.D. and graduate students. Citation classics as well as recent research results will be discussed. Topics will range from plant ecophysiology, biodiversity and biogeochemistry to management aspects in agro- and forest ecosystems.
Lecture notesnone
Prerequisites / NoticePrerequisites: Basic knowledge of plant ecophysiology, terrestrial ecology and management of agro- and forest ecosystems. Course will be taught in English.

Anna Katarina Gilgen: Katalogdaten im Herbstsemester 2021

NameFrau Dr. Anna Katarina Gilgen
Adresse
Professur Graslandwissenschaften
ETH Zürich, LFW C 57.1
Universitätstrasse 2
8092 Zürich
SWITZERLAND
Telefon+41 44 632 30 83
E-Mailakgilgen@ethz.ch
DepartementUmweltsystemwissenschaften
BeziehungDozentin

NummerTitelECTSUmfangDozierende
751-0013-00LWelternährungssystem (World Food System) Information 4 KP4VA. K. Gilgen, J. Baumgartner, A. Bearth, R. Finger, M. Loessner, R. Mezzenga, B. Studer
KurzbeschreibungDie Grundlagen des Welternährungssystem werden anhand von Fallbeispielen aus der Forschung entlang der Wertschöpfungskette und abhängig von den Rahmenbedingungen in Ländern verschiedener Entwicklungsstufen vermittelt. So soll Verständnis für globale Problemstellungen, insbesondere Lebensmittelknappheit, falsche Ernährung, Lebensmittelqualität und -sicherheit sowie Umweltfragen generiert werden.
LernzielMit Besuch dieser Lehrveranstaltung erfassen Studierende die Elemente des World Food System (WFS) und damit verbundener Problemkreise. Insbesondere wird ihnen die Bedeutung der vier Säulen einer globalen Ernährungssicherung bekannt sein, die da sind: (I) Lebensmittel (LM)-Verfügbarkeit (einschl. nachhaltiger Erzeugung und Verarbeitung), (II) Zugang zu LM (physisch und monetär), (III) LM-Verwertung (einschl. Qualität und Sicherheit sowie Gesundheit und Wohlbefinden) und (IV) Resilienz gegenüber Randbedingungen (ökologisch, ökonomisch und politisch). Die somit vermittelten Einblicke sollen die globalen Hintergründe unserer ETH-Forschung zur Sicherstellung der künftigen Lebensmittelversorgung bewusst machen und damit Motivation und Verständnis für die Einordnung nachfolgender fachspezifischer Lehrveranstaltungen erzeugen. Diese Lehrveranstaltung bezieht Aspekte der Agrar- und Lebensmittelwissenschaften gleichermassen ein und fördert somit auch die Entwicklung einer notwendigen interdisziplinären Betrachtungsweise der beschriebenen WFS Thematik.
InhaltAn Fallbeispielen bestimmter Lebensmittel pflanzlicher und tierischer Herkunft wird die gesamte Wertschöpfungsketter von der Erzeugung des Rohstoffs bis hin zum verarbeiteten Lebensmittel und dessen verbraucherrelevanten Eigenschaftsfunktionen aufgezeigt. Dabei werden jeweils relevante Aspekte für Industrie-, Schwellen und Entwicklungsländer über ingenieur-, natur- und sozialwissenschaftliche Ansätze vermittelt.
SkriptSkripte, Links und andere Unterlagen werden jeweils online zur Verfügung gestellt.
LiteraturInformation zu Büchern und anderer Literatur wird während der Lehrveranstaltung bekanntgegeben.
Voraussetzungen / BesonderesDas Fach soll Studierenden vornehmlich der Agrar- und Lebensmittelwissenschaften die Schnittstellen dieser beiden Bereiche im Kontext zu wichtigen globalen Fragestellungen nahebringen. Ferner sollen den Studierenden im ersten Studienjahr Aus- und Einblicke gegeben werden, spezifische Zielrichtungen erkennen und formulieren helfen und somit motivieren, die dafür notwendigen Grundlagen zielgerichtet zu adaptieren.
Das Fach ist Teil der Basisprüfung nach dem ersten Studienjahr. Die schriftliche on-line Prüfung erlaubt das Mitbringen von Unterlagen ("Open Book"), andere Hilfsmittel sind nicht gestattet. Die Vorlesungssprache ist deutsch.
751-1010-00LWissenschaftliches Arbeiten Teil II: Wissenschaftliches Schreiben Belegung eingeschränkt - Details anzeigen
Nur für Agrarwissenschaften BSc.
2 KP4GR. Kölliker, J. Anderegg, A. Feurtey, A. K. Gilgen, M. Laub, A. Oberson Dräyer, B. Studer, F. Tamburini, D. J. Wüpper
KurzbeschreibungDie Studierenden kennen die Grundlagen und die Konventionen des wissenschaftlichen Schreibens in den Naturwissenschaften, können wissenschaftliche Literatur suchen und verwalten sowie wissenschaftliche Publikationen analysieren. Sie setzen das Gelernte beim Schreiben eines eigenen Textes um.
LernzielDie Studierenden kennen die Grundlagen und die Konventionen des wissenschaftlichen Schreibens in den Naturwissenschaften. Sie setzen das Gelernte beim Schreiben eines kritischen Literaturberichtes zu einem agrarwissenschaftlichen Thema ihrer Wahl um. Die Lehrveranstaltung bereitet die Studierenden auf weitere schriftliche Arbeiten im Studium der Agrarwissenschaften vor, beispielsweise auf die Bachelor-Arbeit.
SkriptEs wird ein Skript abgegeben.
Voraussetzungen / BesonderesDie Note für die LV Wissenschaftliches Arbeiten (Teil I: Grundlagen (WiA) und
Teil II: Wissenschaftliches Schreiben (WiSch)) setzt sich aus den Leistungen der Lehrveranstaltungen im
4. und 5. Semester zusammen. Die Note für WiSch (5. Sem.) zählt zu 80% zur Gesamtnote.
751-4003-01LCurrent Topics in Grassland Sciences (HS) Information 2 KP2SA. K. Gilgen
KurzbeschreibungResearch results in agro- and forest ecosystem sciences will be presented by experienced researchers as well as Ph.D. and graduate students. Citation classics as well as recent research results will be discussed. Topics will range from plant ecophysiology, biodiversity and biogeochemistry to management aspects in agro- and forest ecosystems.
LernzielStudents will be able to understand and evaluate experimental design and data interpretation of on-going studies, be able to critically analyze published research results, practice to present and discuss results in the public, and gain a broad knowledge of recent research and current topics in agro- and forest ecosystem sciences.
InhaltResearch results in agro- and forest ecosystem sciences will be presented by experienced researchers as well as Ph.D. and graduate students. Citation classics as well as recent research results will be discussed. Topics will range from plant ecophysiology, biodiversity and biogeochemistry to management aspects in agro- and forest ecosystems.
Skriptnone
Voraussetzungen / BesonderesPrerequisites: Basic knowledge of plant ecophysiology, terrestrial ecology and management of agro- and forest ecosystems. Course will be taught in English.