Raoul Hopf: Catalogue data in Autumn Semester 2019

Name Dr. Raoul Hopf
Address
Institut für Mechanische Systeme
ETH Zürich, LEE N 219
Leonhardstrasse 21
8092 Zürich
SWITZERLAND
Telephone+41 44 632 28 86
E-mailhopf@imes.mavt.ethz.ch
DepartmentMechanical and Process Engineering
RelationshipLecturer

NumberTitleECTSHoursLecturers
151-0303-00LDimensioning I3 credits3GE. Mazza, R. Hopf
AbstractIntroduction to Dimensioning of components and machine parts. Basic structural theories are introduced and a short introduction to finite elements is given. Further, elements from fracture mechanics, plasticity and stability of structures are presented.
ObjectiveThe goal of the lecture is to build on and extend the theories from Mechanics 2. Students learn how to implement adequate models for practical dimensioning problems in mechanical engineering and how to solve and critically interpret these models.
Content- Basic problem of continuum mechanics
- Structural theories
- Introduction to finite element methods
- Strength of materials
- Fatigue
- Stability of structures
Lecture notesWill be announced during the first lecture.
LiteratureWill be announced during the first lecture.
151-0501-02LMechanics 1: Kinematics and Statics (Colloquium)0 credits1KR. Hopf
AbstractBasics: Position of a material point, velocity, kinematics of rigid bodies, forces, reaction principle, mechanical power
Statics: Groups of forces, moments, equilibrium of rigid bodies, reactions at supports, parallel forces, center of gravity, statics of systems, principle of virtual power, trusses, frames, forces in beams and cables, friction
ObjectiveThe understanding of the fundamentals of Statics for engineers and their application in simple settings.
ContentBasics: Position of a material point; velocity; kinematics of rigid bodies; translation, rotation, planar motion; forces, action-reaction principle, internal and external forces, distributed forces; mechanical power.
Statics: equivalence and reduction of groups of forces; rest and equilibrium; basic theorem of statics; kinematic and static boundary conditions, applications to supports and clamps of rods and beams; procedures for determination of forces at supports and clamps; parallel forces and centre of gravity; statics of systems, solution using basic theorem and using the principle of virtual power, statically indeterminate systems; statically determinate truss structures, ideal truss structures, nodal point equilibrium, methods for truss force determination; friction, static friction, sliding friction, friction at joints and supports, rolling resistance; forces in cables; beam loading, force and moment vector.
Lecture notesÜbungsblätter
LiteratureSayir, M.B., Dual J., Kaufmann S., Ingenieurmechanik 1: Grundlagen und Statik, Teubner

Raoul Hopf: Katalogdaten im Herbstsemester 2019

NameHerr Dr. Raoul Hopf
Adresse
Institut für Mechanische Systeme
ETH Zürich, LEE N 219
Leonhardstrasse 21
8092 Zürich
SWITZERLAND
Telefon+41 44 632 28 86
E-Mailhopf@imes.mavt.ethz.ch
DepartementMaschinenbau und Verfahrenstechnik
BeziehungDozent

NummerTitelECTSUmfangDozierende
151-0303-00LDimensionieren I3 KP3GE. Mazza, R. Hopf
KurzbeschreibungEinführung in das Dimensionieren von Bauteilen und Maschinenelementen. Grundlagen zur Behandlung strukturmechanischer Auslegungsproblemen werden behandelt: Strukturtheorien wie auch eine Einführung in die Methode der Finiten Elemente. Weiter werden Elemente aus der Bruchmechanik, Plastizität und Stabilität behandelt. Die Anwendung von Regelwerken
(Normen) wird anhand von Beispielen behandelt.
LernzielZiel der Vorlesung ist es, die Grundlagen der Festigkeitslehre (Mechanik 2) anzuwenden bzw. zu erweitern. Studierende lernen wie man aus konkreten Problemstellungen ein geeignetes Modell bildet, dieses löst und kritisch analysiert um typische Auslegungsfragen im Maschinenbau zu beantworten.
Inhalt- Grundproblem der Kontinuumsmechanik
- Strukturtheorien
- Einführung in die Methode der Finiten Elemente
- Versagenshypothesen und Festigkeitsnachweise
- Ermüdung
- Stabilität von Strukturen
SkriptWird in der ersten Vorlesung bekannt gegeben.
LiteraturWird in der ersten Vorlesung bekannt gegeben.
151-0501-02LMechanik 1: Kinematik und Statik (Kolloquium)0 KP1KR. Hopf
KurzbeschreibungGrundlagen: Lage eines materiellen Punktes; Geschwindigkeit; Kinematik starrer Körper; Kräfte, Reaktionsprinzip; Leistung
Statik: Kräftegruppen und Momente; Prinzip der virtuellen Leistungen, Ruhelage und Gleichgewicht, Hauptsatz der Statik; Lagerbindungen und Lagerkräfte; Parallele Kräfte und Schwerpunkt; Statik der Systeme; Fachwerke; Reibung; Seilstatik; Beanspruchung in Stabträgern.
LernzielVerständnis der mechanischen Grundlagen des Bauingenieurwesens: Statik sowie ihre Anwendung auf einfache Probleme.
InhaltGrundlagen: Lage eines materiellen Punktes; Geschwindigkeit; Kinematik starrer Körper, Translation, Rotation, Kreiselung, ebene Bewegung; Kräfte, Reaktionsprinzip, innere und äussere Kräfte, verteilte Flächen- und Raumkräfte; Leistung

Statik: Aequivalenz und Reduktion von Kräftegruppen; Ruhe und Gleichgewicht, Hauptsatz der Statik; Lagerbindungen und Lagerkräfte, Lager bei Balkenträgern und Wellen, Vorgehen zur Ermittlung der Lagerkräfte; Parallele Kräfte und Schwerpunkt; Statik der Systeme, Behandlung mit Hauptsatz, mit Prinzip der virtuellen Leistungen, statisch unbestimmte Systeme; Statisch bestimmte Fachwerke, ideale Fachwerke, Pendelstützen, Knotengleichgewicht, räumliche Fachwerke; Reibung, Haftreibung, Gleitreibung, Gelenk und Lagerreibung, Rollreibung; Seilstatik; Beanspruchung in Stabträgern, Querkraft, Normalkraft, Biege- und Torsionsmoment
SkriptÜbungsblätter
LiteraturSayir, M.B., Dual J., Kaufmann S., Ingenieurmechanik 1: Grundlagen und Statik, Teubner