Martin E. Schwab: Catalogue data in Spring Semester 2012

Name Prof. em. Dr. Martin E. Schwab
FieldNeuroscience
Address
Institut für Regenerative Medizin
Wagistrasse 27
Universität Zürich
8952 Schlieren
SWITZERLAND
Telephone044 635 33 30
E-mailmartine.schwab@hest.ethz.ch
DepartmentHealth Sciences and Technology
RelationshipProfessor emeritus

NumberTitleECTSHoursLecturers
376-0018-00LPractical Course in Neuroscience Restricted registration - show details 2 credits2PM. E. Schwab, K. Lutz, O. L. D. Raineteau
AbstractIntroduction into neurobiological approaches and methods: cell culture experiments, microscopic analysis of tissue after staining, transgenic animals, behavioral experiments with rats, anatomical analysis after spinal cord or brain injury
ObjectiveIt is the aim to understand typical problems in neurobiology and to get to know techniques used to address these open questions.
ContentIntroduction into neurobiological approaches and methods: cell culture experiments, microscopic analysis of tissue after staining, transgenic animals, behavioral experiments with rats, anatomical analysis after spinal cord or brain injury
Lecture notesnone
Literaturenone
Prerequisites / NoticeInterest in neurobiological questions and enthusiasm for research!
376-1332-00LCellular Neurobiology6 credits7GM. E. Schwab
AbstractIntroduction into neurobiological research techniques and collaboration in actual research projects. The goal is to encourage independent scientific thinking and to translate theoretical knowledge into practical experiments. The course includes reading of original articles and presentation of the work done.
ObjectiveCollaboration in actual research projects to encourage independent scientific thinking and translation of theoretical knowledge into practical experiments. Further goals are reading and interpretation of original literature and presentation of ones work.
ContentIntroduction into neurobiological research techniques and collaboration in actual research projects. The goal is to encourage independent scientific thinking and to translate theoretical knowledge into practical experiments. The experimental focus will be on cell culture work (primary cell cultures and cell lines), cell biological, molecular biology and biochemical approaches. The course includes reading of original articles and presentation of the work done.
Lecture notesOriginal articles will be handed out and discussed during the course.
LiteratureOriginal articles will be handed out and discussed during the course.
376-1398-00LRegeneration and Plasticity of the Nervous System6 credits7GM. E. Schwab
AbstractIntroduction into our research and collaboration in actual research projects. The goal is to encourage independent scientific thinking and to translate theoretical knowledge into practical experiments. The course includes reading of original articles and presentation of the work done.
ObjectiveCollaboration in actual research projects to encourage independent scientific thinking and translation of theoretical knowledge into practical experiments. Further goals are reading and interpretation of original literature and presentation of ones work.
ContentIntroduction into our research and collaboration in actual research projects. The goal is to encourage independent scientific thinking and to translate theoretical knowledge into practical experiments. The paradigms include in vivo experiments with rats and/or mice. Next to behavioral analysis also histological and anatomical analysis is done. The course includes reading of original articles and presentation of the work done.
Lecture notesOriginal articles will be handed out and discussed during the course.
LiteratureOriginal articles will be handed out and discussed during the course.
376-1414-00LCurrent Topics in Brain Research1 credit1.5KM. E. Schwab, F. Helmchen, I. Mansuy, O. L. D. Raineteau
AbstractDifferent national and international scientific guests are invited to present and discuss their actual scientific results.
ObjectiveTo exchange scientific knowledge and data and to promote communication and collaborations among researchers.
ContentDifferent scientific guests working in the field of molecular cognition, neurochemistry, neuromorphology and neurophysiology present their latest scientific results.
Lecture notesno handout
Literatureno literature
376-1416-00LNeuroscience Information 2 credits2VK. A. Martin, I. Mansuy, M. E. Schwab, B. Tews
AbstractDevelopment and function of the nervous system incl. higher brain functions such as cognition and learning. Introduction into basic concepts and methods in the neurosciences.
ObjectiveUnderstanding of the developing and adult vertebrate nervous system, of the senses, the machinery and functional mechanisms of learning and cognition, and the basic concepts and methods in neurobiology.
ContentThe lectures of Prof. Schwab provide an introduction to the development of the nervous system and the maintenance, plasticity and repair of the nervous system (trophic factors, receptor-tyr-kinases, stem cells); Dr. Tews will talk about neurotransmission, neuropharmacology and glial cells. Prof. Martin’s part will introduce the different sensory systems. The lectures of Prof. Mansuy will introduce higher brain functions such as learning, memory and cognition and will present recent theories and finding of those fields.
Lecture notesThe course will include textbook readings, lecture handouts, and articles from the literature.
Available handouts can be downloaded at https://team.biol.ethz.ch/e-learn/551-0416-00L (Logon: <username>@d.ethz.ch oder d\<username> und ETH Email Password).
LiteratureCampbell, Reece: Biologie (8. Auflage) Pearson Studium

Purves et al.: Neuroscience, 3rd or 4th edition, Sinauer Associates

Martin E. Schwab: Katalogdaten im Frühjahrssemester 2012

NameHerr Prof. em. Dr. Martin E. Schwab
LehrgebietNeurowissenschaften
Adresse
Institut für Regenerative Medizin
Wagistrasse 27
Universität Zürich
8952 Schlieren
SWITZERLAND
Telefon044 635 33 30
E-Mailmartine.schwab@hest.ethz.ch
DepartementGesundheitswissenschaften und Technologie
BeziehungProfessor emeritus

NummerTitelECTSUmfangDozierende
376-0018-00LPraktikum Neurowissenschaften Belegung eingeschränkt - Details anzeigen 2 KP2PM. E. Schwab, K. Lutz, O. L. D. Raineteau
KurzbeschreibungEinführung in Ansätze und Methoden der Neurobiologie: Zellkulturexperimente, Mikroskopische Analysen von Geweben nach Anfärbung, transgene Tiere, Verhaltensexperimente mit Ratten, Anatomische Analysen nach Rückenmark- oder Hirnverletzung
LernzielZiel ist, ein Verständnis zu entwickeln für typische Fragestellungen der Neurobiologie und methodische Ansätze/Techniken kennen zu lernen, um Anworten auf diese Fragen zu finden.
InhaltEinführung in Ansätze und Methoden der Neurobiologie: Zellkulturexperimente, Mikroskopische Analysen von Geweben nach Anfärbung, transgene Tiere, Verhaltensexperimente mit Ratten, Anatomische Analysen nach Rückenmark- oder Hirnverletzung
Skriptkeines
Literaturkeine
Voraussetzungen / BesonderesInteresse an neurobiologischen Fragestellungen und Enthusiasmus für die Forschung!
376-1332-00LCellular Neurobiology6 KP7GM. E. Schwab
KurzbeschreibungEinführung in die neurobiologische Forschungstechniken und Mitarbeit bei aktuellen Forschungsprojekten mit dem Ziel, selbständiges wissenschaftliches Denken zu fördern und theoretisches Wissen in praktische Experimente umzusetzen. Der Kurs beinhaltet zudem das Lesen von Originalliteratur und die Präsentation der eigenen Arbeit.
LernzielMitarbeit bei aktuellen Forschungsprojekten mit dem Ziel, selbständiges wissenschaftliches Denken zu fördern und theoretisches Wissen in praktische Experimente umzusetzen. Weitere Ziele sind das Lesen und die Interpretation von Originalliteratur und die Präsentation der eigenen Arbeit.
InhaltEinführung in neurobiologische Forschungstechniken und Mitarbeit bei aktuellen Forschungsprojekten mit dem Ziel, selbständiges wissenschaftliches Denken zu fördern und theoretisches Wissen in praktische Experimente umzusetzen. Der experimentelle Fokus wird auf Arbeiten in der Zellkultur (Primärzellkulturen und Zellinien), zellbiologische, molekularbiologische und biochemische Ansätze gesetzt. Der Kurs beinhaltet zudem das Lesen von Originalliteratur und die Präsentation der eigenen Arbeit.
SkriptOriginalartikel werden während dem Kurs ausgehändigt und diskutiert.
LiteraturOriginalartikel werden während dem Kurs ausgehändigt und diskutiert.
376-1398-00LRegeneration and Plasticity of the Nervous System6 KP7GM. E. Schwab
KurzbeschreibungEinführung in unsere Forschung und Mitarbeit bei aktuellen Forschungsprojekten mit dem Ziel, selbständiges wissenschaftliches Denken zu fördern und theoretisches Wissen in praktische Experimente umzusetzen. Der Kurs beinhaltet zudem das Lesen von Originalliteratur und die Präsentation der eigenen Arbeit.
LernzielMitarbeit bei aktuellen Forschungsprojekten mit dem Ziel, selbständiges wissenschaftliches Denken zu fördern und theoretisches Wissen in praktische Experimente umzusetzen. Weitere Ziele sind das Lesen und die Interpretation von Originalliteratur und die Präsentation der eigenen Arbeit.
InhaltEinführung in unsere Forschung und Mitarbeit bei aktuellen Forschungsprojekten mit dem Ziel, selbständiges wissenschaftliches Denken zu fördern und theoretisches Wissen in praktische Experimente umzusetzen. Die experimentellen Ansätze schliessen in vivo Experimente mit Ratten und/oder Mäusen ein. Neben den Verhaltensexperimenten werden auch histologisch- anatomische Auswertungen gemacht. Der Kurs beinhaltet zudem das Lesen von Originalliteratur und die Präsentation der eigenen Arbeit.
SkriptOriginalartikel werden während dem Kurs ausgehändigt und diskutiert.
LiteraturOriginalartikel werden während dem Kurs ausgehändigt und diskutiert.
376-1414-00LCurrent Topics in Brain Research1 KP1.5KM. E. Schwab, F. Helmchen, I. Mansuy, O. L. D. Raineteau
KurzbeschreibungEs werden verschiedene wissenschaftliche Gäste aus dem In-und Ausland eingeladen, um Ihre aktuellen Forschungsdaten zu präsentieren und diskutieren.
LernzielDer Austausch von wissenschaftlichen Erkenntnissen und Daten und die Kommunikation und Zusammenarbeit unter den Forschungenden zu fördern.
InhaltVerschiedene wissenschaftliche Gäste aus den Bereichen Molekulares Bewusstsein, Neurochemie, Neuromorphologie und Neurophysiologie berichten über ihre neuesten wissenschaftlichen Erkenntnisse.
Skriptkein Skript
Literaturkeine
376-1416-00LNeurowissenschaften Information 2 KP2VK. A. Martin, I. Mansuy, M. E. Schwab, B. Tews
KurzbeschreibungEntwicklung und Funktionen des Nervensystems inkl. Höherer Hirnfunktionen wie Kognition und Lernen. Einführung in Grundkonzepte und Methoden der Hirnforschung.
LernzielVerständnis des sich entwickelnden und adulten Wirbeltiernervensystems, der Sinne, der Mechanismen und Funktionen des Lernens und der Kognition, und der Grundkonzepte und Methoden der Neurobiologie.
InhaltDie Vorlesungen von Prof. Schwab beinhalten die Einführung in die Entwicklung des Nervensystems; ausserdem die Erhaltung, Plastizität und Reparatur des Nervensystems (trophische Faktoren, Rezeptor-tyr-kinasen, Stammzellen); Dr. Tews wird die Neurotransmission und Neuropharmakologie sowie die Gliazellen vorstellen. Prof. Martins Teil wird verschiedene Sinnessysteme behandeln. Die Vorlesungen von Prof. Mansuy führen die höheren Hirnfunktionen wie Lernen, Gedächtnis und Kognition ein, und werden neuere Erkenntnisse auf diesen Gebieten zeigen.
SkriptDie Vorlesung beinhaltet die Lektüre von Buchtexten, Vorlesungsunterlagen, und wissenschaftliche Publikationen.
Von Dozierenden zur Verfügung gestellte Vorlesungsunterlagen können unter https://team.biol.ethz.ch/e-learn/551-0416-00L (Logon: <username>@d.ethz.ch oder d\<username> und ETH Email Password) heruntergeladen werden.
LiteraturCampbell, Reece: Biologie (8. Auflage) Pearson Studium

Purves et al.: Neuroscience, 3rd or 4th edition, Sinauer Associates